RSS Feed Print
Need A Purpose in Life.
catlady
Posted: Friday, December 19, 2014 12:47 PM

My husband died October 4.  Before that, I had a purpose.  When I graduated from college, I went to work as a teacher.  Did that for 39 years until I retired.  Part of my reason for retiring was that my DH had been diagnosed with AD two years previously and he could not work any more...so we both retired at the same time.  Everything was good for the first 3 years...we could travel....he could stay alone at home......  Then as the AD worsened, no more traveling and no more staying alone.   I kept him at home and had someone come in 5 hours M-F so I could go to exercise class and run errands. He was 68 when he died.  I am 65. 

So.....I always had a purpose....go to school, go to work, take care of DH.  Now that he has passed away, I feel at loose ends.  I still go to exercise class M-F and volunteer one day a week at a memory care unit...but it's not enough.  I just don't feel like I have a purpose in life.   Has anyone else felt this way? 

KML
Posted: Friday, December 19, 2014 2:14 PM

catlady:

I can only imagine how difficult it is to lose a spouse.  So much of your daily life is entwined together.  October is pretty recent as far as losing someone.  It takes a lot of time to adjust to this new way of living.

After my father passed away, I felt disoriented, the whole routine of caring for him, seeing him everyday, doing something everyday towards his care was an integral part of my life and what seemed like in a second was then gone.

I felt like I had no purpose, even though, I was still a wife, a mother, an employee, his care became the central purpose of my life.

Slowly, I started to emerge from feeling lost.  I missed him, I still grieved for him, but I started to re-enter life now.