RSS Feed Print
They say I did so good, I'm not convinced!
Oneandonly
Posted: Tuesday, December 17, 2013 6:43 PM

This is my first time to post in this forum.  Can't believe I'm on the 'other side' now.  Mom passed away exactly two weeks ago tonight so this is still pretty new.  I still have to face her memorial service this Sunday.  Cards have been coming in and people are praising me for doing such a good job for my mom, for making sure she had good care.  I just am not so convinced.  Every time now I hear about an elderly person who had surgery for some condition I wonder if maybe that would have helped mom?  Maybe I should have tried that.  The thing is that throughout her journey with AD and her various medical issues that cropped up along the way I was quite confident is my choices.  In the end I really do believ I made the right choices but I just wasn't expecting that now I would spend two days analyzing every
Oneandonly
Posted: Tuesday, December 17, 2013 6:46 PM

Continued...(sorry I am having trouble editing before posting.  Typed this many times and lost it)....anyways, I didn't expect to be analyzing everything for two days to arrive back at the same point where I started from to be comfortable with my decisions!  Kind of driving me and my poor hubby nuts!
deb97
Posted: Tuesday, December 17, 2013 6:51 PM

I'm so sorry for your loss.  I do the same thing but I know it's not healthy.  I guess many of us do this.  I think that looking back and replaying decisions is a way of not dealing with the pain of the present. 

Again, I'm so sorry for your loss. 

Deb

dj okay
Posted: Wednesday, December 18, 2013 8:04 AM

Dear oneandonly,