RSS Feed Print
What now?
Bjjca
Posted: Saturday, August 22, 2015 3:51 PM

I'm new to this, my husband died 4 days ago. The last month has been a blur. He became ill about 4 weeks ago. Hospice came in, he deteriorated. He stopped eating and drinking, fell into a coma and stopped breathing. I've done the ministers, funeral home, caterer, which is also a blur. Bob has 7 children and they're all here (they get along very well together and with me), but they're nearly killing me with kindness. I really haven't been alone for 3 weeks until today for a few hours. It felt good. But I'm wondering what will happen when the funeral is over, 3 of them go home and the other 4 go back to work. I haven't really processed that Bob is gone. Can you give me some advice what the next months will be? Thanks so much.
Mulelady
Posted: Saturday, August 22, 2015 9:19 PM

I am so very sorry that you have lost your dear Bob. We all grieve in different ways and no one is the same. You will probably like being alone for a while. It seems that we kind of cocoon and insulate ourselves from the outside. Then, it takes a long while to realize they are really gone, and even longer (for me anyway) to have it sink in that they will never be back.
It has been nearly a year since I lost my Donald, and it is better, but it will never be gone. After being with someone for 45 1/2 years, they are a part of you. Let family help you, and take it one day at a time. Allow yourself the grief, it is the price of love. I wish you the best. Leanne

Mrs. Braxton
Posted: Saturday, August 22, 2015 10:50 PM

Bjjca I am very sorry for your loss. It is so very difficult for each of us. Then weeks they are dying is a blur. It happens so fast you can barely keep up with the decline.
Our Hospice here has 13 months of grief concealing. She gave me a book on grief, and I have really liked it.