RSS Feed Print
Mom died on July 24
TinaFinn7
Posted: Saturday, August 17, 2019 4:06 AM

I have been grieving for many years - Mom lived with dementia for over 14 years and I saw the slow decline and changes in her for so long, the long good bye. When she occasionally was belligerent, I know it was the disease talking, not my sweet mother. Last fall she began to not recognize me, didn’t know we were related, that I was her daughter; I felt heartbroken. She didn’t recognize herself in photos. I learned over the years to enjoy each moment with her, whether we watched tv, listened to entertainers at her facility, or relaxed in a patio as the breeze gently swayed the palm trees. I wrote in my journal when I visited her twice a year; we lived in different states. I reread my journal after Mom died and was amazed at the changes in her; I’m glad I recorded my own thoughts and emotions. I was strong and did what was needed (arranging for hospice for her last 2 months, funeral home plans for our private viewing, found movers to empty her room); my brother was so appreciative of everything I did. When I returned home, I felt numb for a few weeks. I saved Mom’s cards and letters to me; when I reread them last week, I burst into tears. I miss Mom so much - I miss the Mom untouched by dementia. I began attending a local grief support group meeting last week and will continue attending. I’m not crying much at all...have I cried enough over the years (anticipatory grief)? I know grief is a process. I’ll write in my journal in the weeks and months to come; I’m sure this will help.
Wgonzo
Posted: Saturday, August 17, 2019 6:40 AM

Tina,

My heart goes out to you. This is a difficult time navigating through the grief and not knowing what to do next. Or just not wanting to do anything.What helped me most were the connections I made here. One connection in particular has become my best friend. Talking to others who truly understand was the best thing for me.