RSS Feed Print
Studies indicate meditation, aromatherapy may help fight against Alzheimer's
SunshineFour
Posted: Sunday, March 25, 2012 12:50 PM

http://www.sacbee.com/2012/03/23/4360654/studies-indicate-meditation-aromatherapy.html
Myriam
Posted: Sunday, March 25, 2012 7:45 PM

I've been meditating for almost 30 years. Maybe that's why my symptoms of AD didn't show up until I was 63, instead of the late 40's like my father, 7 of his siblings, and several of my cousins. I'm also doing aroma therapy (thanks, Lane) and best practices. 
SusieQ
Posted: Tuesday, March 27, 2012 8:42 AM

Myriam,

How do you go about doing the aromatherapy and what would you use?  Thanks.

Myriam
Posted: Tuesday, March 27, 2012 10:17 AM

Actually, I followed what Lane does for his mother. Here are the aroma's I use: Peppermint, Cinnamon, Sage, Oregano, Bay Laurel, Rosemary, Orange and Thyme. If you decide to try this, make sure you buy quality aroma's. They aren't all made alike. 

Each morning  and evening (usually when I take my meds), I bring the aroma close to my nose and take a long breath of it into my nose. Then I wait a few seconds before breathing the next aroma. 

It took me several weeks before I started noticing a difference. the results are subtle, but for me every little bit helps. 

Lane, is there anything I'm missing? 

Lane Simonian
Posted: Tuesday, March 27, 2012 11:15 AM

Perfect, Myriam.  I am glad that you are seeing some positive results from aromatherapy.