RSS Feed Print
For Lane S.: conflicted feelings about Noble Study
Dd197
Posted: Saturday, March 26, 2016 7:29 AM

I'm addressing this post to Lane, but is for all who want to add to this discussion.

My husband is in the Noble study of the Alz drug T-817MA. He is past the 6 month mark and I am having a gut feeling that he has declined greatly since on the drug. For those of you that are unfamiliar with this study drug, it is a neuroprotectant designed to protect against neuron loss, protect brain cells and improve memory. 

In this study, the participant has three opportunities to stop taking the drug for a short time. My husband and I decided to take a week off from taking this drug to see if there was a difference in his memory and functioning. My reason was that he was declining a little too rapidly couple of areas and maybe this drug was the reason. I'm not a scientist nor a researcher but have a background in the sciences so I'm not that ignorant of the human body.  I should also mention that we thing he is taking the drug and not the placebo as he had some side effects from taking it the first day. We both felt there were improvements in his cognitive functioning the first few months but not anymore. 

The first time off the drug I  thought he was functioning a little better but wasn't sure. The second time off the drug I did notice little improvements but again, was it the exercise, aromatherapy, or being off the drug. He sees two neurologists while on the study, one who we cannot talk to about any declines, gains, or changes I see as this is a double-blind study. The other neurologist we can talk with about what I see. The 2nd neurologist said the declines were, in his opinion, 90% disease causing declines. I also realize they have a vested interest to keep him in this trial.

My husband has lost the map of our home in his brain, has a great more difficulty processing conversations, tv shows, difficulty reading as well as the everyday living activities.