RSS Feed Print
What it takes to be a scientist?
JackX
Posted: Wednesday, February 8, 2017 6:16 PM

New York Times Magazine just published a piece of Q&A:

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/02/08/magazine/can-a-researcher-studying-an-alzheimers-treatment-try-it-on-himself.html?_r=0

Q: I’m an older scientist who has spent decades leading a small laboratory at a wellknown medical center. Much of our work is purely for the joy of discovery, but we also seek badly needed cures for illnesses. A cure for Alzheimer’s disease is beginning to look attainable with technology we are pioneering. While investigating genes for early onset Alzheimer’s, we invented a genetransfer method that stopped the brain damage and restored cognitive function. Eureka! Sadly, my doctor has just given me a diagnosis of earlystage Alzheimer’s. Given that no truly effective treatment is out there yet, can I try dosing myself with our potential cure? Do I have the right, given that I will otherwise die of dementia before a clinical trial could even begin? I plan to do this alone. None of my people will know about it. It’s something like a highaltitude, lowopening jump. It is not reversible and may be dangerous. But is it wrong? Name Withheld. 

A: I’m sorry to hear about your illness. As our diagnostic capacities regarding dementia increase, more and more people face this distressing news. That makes the work you are doing especially important, and I’m glad that you have hopes for the approach that your lab is studying. I can see the temptation you face. What’s more, the history of medicine is full of cases in which researchers experimented on themselves. Salk gave himself his polio vaccine before it was given to the public. The inventor of Valium tranquilized himself before tranquilizing the multitudes. Barry Marshall, the researcher who identified Helicobacter pylori as a cause of stomach ulcers, gagged down a bacterialaden broth and studied the results.