RSS Feed Print
The Day We Talked About Your Dementia
TRConnie
Posted: Tuesday, December 14, 2021 9:12 PM

I'm brand new here.  I'm a writer and a few weeks ago, I wrote the following in a grief writing workshop that I attend.  This piece pretty much details where we are.

----------------

The Day We Talked About Your Dementia

We were on the phone, which was not my plan, the day we talked about your dementia.  We talked about confusion and sundowning and how I didn’t want you driving in the late afternoon or evening. We talked for a long time. It was a touchy conversation, but surprisingly easy.  We both were receptive. It was the right time if not the right place.  Maybe we needed the distance the phone provided to talk about these hard things.  We agree that I should start packaging your medications for daily consumption because it was getting to be too much.  We talked about how much more lucid and normal you had been in the hospital.  I attribute it to consistent meals and medications. 

You do confuse easily and often.  It’s hard to watch. You bristle with me when I gently correct you and offer your opinion that it is me who is confused.  You are firm in your belief that all is well until you’re not. When you do realize, when you see the writing on the wall, you ask me about it.  You have a million questions, all of them hard to answer.  You confuse your nows and thens.  Your dreams and your awakenings.  The mundane and the surprising.  You are resolute one moment and a small child trying to decide at the candy counter the next. 

You are curled up on the sofa with your legs tucked under you.  You look at your daughter and wonder how it is that you got to this point.  You never wanted or expected to need someone.  You are grateful, but sad.  This is not how you wanted to go out. You ask her for help with something else. If it wasn’t important, you wouldn’t.  But it is.  And you ask.  She says, “of course.”