RSS Feed Print
New to the group
young nana
Posted: Monday, October 21, 2013 4:56 PM

I want to say thank you for a spot to listen, support and share.  I'm in the earliest stages called MCI.  I have great days and some not so great.  I was my father's caregiver and he died of AD six years ago.  His mother also died of AD.  My dad showed significant signs of early onset in his late fifties. My biggest challenge today, besides forgetting stuff is feeling like my emotions are harder to control.  Does anyone else deal with this?  I've been a consultant for years and I'm good and being calm but it seems to be getting harder.  Thanks for your help.
struggling
Posted: Monday, October 21, 2013 5:55 PM

Hi young nana, and welcome.  

Not sure what to say here..... I was diagnosed with MCI a little over a year ago.  I'm still pretty much me, although yes, I am forgetful.   It is thought that y mother died of Alzheimer's, however she was 93 at the time.  She had been incapacitated for quite some time, was very difficult to care for, and my brother and I shared the burden. (two other siblings were not as engaged)

I don't want to become the person she was!

Getting outside and walking, biking, etc are very good activities for folks like us.  Also having  someone you can talk to who understands your disease.

My moods go up and down, and oddly enough, I am feeling and acting better that I did when I was diagnosed.  In the beginning I was given the Exelon patch to treat my disease.  It did not seem to help, and I stopped it with no apparent changes, good or bad.

I eat gobs of fruit and veg, lentils, and small amounts of meat such as chicken and pork. I get outside every day, rain (I live in Portland, OR, land of rain)

I think that I am beginning to slide down the slippery slope, but thankfully it is still pretty slow.