RSS Feed Print
61 and wondering if statin drugs or narcotic pain meds are causing forgetfulness!
zappadaddy
Posted: Sunday, October 27, 2013 3:01 PM

At 61, though I have a mother who died of AZ, I wonder if other meds are causing my short term memory loss. I'm on Crestor, Xanax, and Oxycontin for the past 5 years...Not trying to be in denial, but considering other causes/side effects as a result to these current meds. I have heart disease, anxiety, rheumatoid and Ostioarthritis...Any input would be appreciated please. Thanks, Zappadaddy
Paul Hornback
Posted: Sunday, October 27, 2013 3:12 PM

Zappadaddy. I'm no doctor but with all the hype in the news recently, some of the drugs could be having an affect on your short term memory. It is probably something you definitely need to talk with your doctors about though. If you have Alz or some other dementia related disease, I'm sure the drugs could exasperate some of your symptoms.

God bless, Paul

Mimi S.
Posted: Sunday, October 27, 2013 3:40 PM

Hi Zappadaddy,

I'm sorry you are experiencing memory loss.

ASAP get an appointment to get a good evaluation. There are several wonderful hospitals in NYC and Boston that do this. Go for the best.

Expect a complete physical.

Blood tests (You'll wonder if you have any blood left.  They want to exclude many common factors.)

Brain scans. In early stage of the disease mainly to exclude other factors.

A several hour long neuropsychological exam.  Helps ascertain strengths and weaknesses. Also can be a big help deciding the type of dementia, if present.

Re statins. Research certainly swings on this one. When i was first diagnosed they thought it was good. Then they went in the other direction. Now they seem back to it's good.  

Call ASAP for an appointment but expect to wait one or two months. In the log run, that wait won't make much difference.

Meanwhile check your current life style against what several of us call our BEST PRACTICES:

1. TAKE MEDS AS DIRECTED