RSS Feed Print
reading
jfkoc
Posted: Tuesday, April 23, 2019 1:13 PM

This was an email from Abe's. I wonder if students read these any more.

https://www.abebooks.com/books/features/50-classic-books.shtml?cm_mmc=nl-_-nl-_-C190423-TRD-clabksBWRARE-_-b2cta&abersp=1

chrisp1653
Posted: Tuesday, April 23, 2019 2:27 PM

I can't recall being encouraged to read those particular books when I was a student in the Oakland, CA school system back in the 1960s, but at least six of them have passed through my hands. Some stories have been read and reread many times over the years. Some favorites of mine that are not on the list are Les Miserables, Advise and Consent, and anything written by David McCullough.

I don't know if these are too contemporary to be considered classics, but they do encourage introspective thought, and shed light on different horizons, so they're on my list of " must reads. "

Jo C.
Posted: Tuesday, April 23, 2019 3:30 PM

I have read 20 of the 30 recommended classic fiction novels; so that leaves me with another ten good reads to go from that list.

What I would do without books, I do not know. I have been an avid reader since a small child.  from first grade on; I was a good reader. (Terrible at arithmatic.) I checked out books year round, but during the summer, I checked out five books per week or so from the public library and read and read and read; we had no television.  In my teens, I continued on making best friends with the library and it has carried on through my adulthood.

Gosh; there is nothing like a really good book; they carry me away.  I also enjoy good film, so that too is another form of a story.  This is what I do at night when going to bed and when I wake up before the rooster, I get some reading time in. 

God bless all good writers, we so need and enjoy them.

J. 

jfkoc
Posted: Tuesday, April 23, 2019 5:44 PM

Chicago schooling...I read all but 2 on the fiction list before I graduated from HS 1959. I guess reading was "big into".