RSS Feed Print
No more beach trips, I guess
ruthmendez
Posted: Sunday, May 26, 2019 10:57 PM

I'm not sure what happened, but my dad may have had a seizure today. It was a very scary experience for me, because I've never seen one before.  
I have noticed a subtle change at night with his breathing, and I assumed the beginning symptoms of aspiration, but I'm no medical expert.

While I was bathing him this morning he would do sudden trembles with his arms.  As if he felt cold (but he's never done that before) or had sudden fears or memories of falling, losing balance-type of tremble/motion/reaction.  I just assumed that once I'm done bathing him, I can warm him up with two blankets.  

Then, as I was shaving him, he continued with short trembles.  After,  I raised the bed for him to watch TV in his room, then I prepared his breakfast.  Before breakfast he had a few strawberries and one sip of water.  Then when I began to hand feed him, that's when he had the horrible attack.  If was very intense, contraction of his arms and his face totally tightened up.  He made an intense tightness type of sound.  I f***en freaked out and ran to call 911.  I was frustrated being asked many questions and I don't have a cordless phone.  I was in the other room.  I thought that was it, he's dying.

The 911 operator asked me to check on him and I'm freaken out.  My dad just had his eyes sort of rolled up and breathing horribly.  Soon the ambulance arrived and I did hear one of the paramedics asking the other "...when was his first seizure?....."  

The ER doctor said there is nothing abnormal, but if my dad is to stay, more tests can be done.  I told him if I can get a Hospice evaluation order, to see if my father will qualify.  I'm assuming this attack can happen again, and I'll just be calling 911.  

So, my father has been admitted and I may get to have a meeting with the doctor to discuss my father's future.