RSS Feed Print
Pros & Cons for telling patient of diagnosis?
Patny
Posted: Monday, March 7, 2016 9:46 PM

I am very new to this world of alzheimers, and I'd like to hear from others farther down the road about your experiences deciding whether or not to tell someone they have Early Onset Alz.. If you told them, did they lose all hope? If you didn't, how did they handle not knowing what was wrong with them? 

If YOU have early onset, do you think it's better to know or not know? I would truly appreciate your input.  Thank you

a_step@a_time
Posted: Tuesday, March 8, 2016 1:37 AM

Good question.

I would want to know but I am realist.  Been frustrated for 2.5 yrs but I seek antiviral. (All started post exposure/kiss, STD tests are negative).  Now I see benefits to not knowing... like getting finances and POA in order.  I am undiagnosed but assume dementia based on knowing what my parent went through.  She did not benefit from the standard meds so I guess diagnosis does not matter. I at least tried natural stuff like post herpetic diet and vitamins, with  some help. Also have dizziness, and vision problems like parent.  My personality seems to be changing now.

If I had no parent with it, I would like at least a clue.  Something to explain the brain madness.

BillBRNC
Posted: Tuesday, March 8, 2016 7:30 AM