RSS Feed Print
what does death with dignity mean to you?
alz+
Posted: Tuesday, March 28, 2017 8:36 AM

I checked the final exit network site today and the words "death with dignity" struck me for the first time.

I have not witnessed an undignified death. I was a volunteer massage therapist for Hospice for years and never saw someone die an undignified death. sometimes the dying process takes a week or more like with my father, and recently my mother passed with hospice care in her own bed.

Anyone want to explain the what would make them choose to end their own life in order to feel it was dignified?

Is it my orthodox tradition that sees all death as a place to be humble and reminded we are not in control of everything, which is a blessing?

I am NOT insulting anyone who chooses this method but I never knew this is the motto - as if any death left to nature is undignified.

BillBRNC
Posted: Tuesday, March 28, 2017 9:11 AM

When, where, and how I so choose.
llee08032
Posted: Wednesday, March 29, 2017 8:11 AM

I always thought of death as one of the most natural processes of life. As natural as birth.

It hit me that my step father was really dying whenI saw him being kind to my sister-in-law whom he always said he hated. He seemed to be trying to  work through the tension he had in his relationships with others and making amends to those whom he had hurt. He was stubborn and bitter at times. But in the end a peace came over him like I never saw when he was well and healthy. 

I think dying ith dignity has to do not only with being at peace with God but all that you leave behind. My worst fears about death, not unlike others I'm sure are not about me. Myworst fearsare about not being here for my loved ones and the impact my death would have on them. It has absolutely nothing at allto do with me. 

BlueSkies
Posted: Wednesday, March 29, 2017 12:15 PM