RSS Feed Print
T minus 0
obrien4j
Posted: Thursday, April 27, 2017 6:28 AM

I just need to remember to breathe right now. T minus 1 day to retirement and my heart hurts a little bit tonight. I've been teaching for 34 years, now retiring some 5 years earlier than expected.  Didn't think dementia would be the culprit for my early retirement, hoping it would be the lottery! It's so hard to say goodbye to my students, the ines who drove me crazy, the ones you had my heart. The boys cried, it was so touching to see. My boss was a total insensitive, hypocritical jerk, and her sidekick was just as arrogant. This was not the way I wanted to leave, but I know in my heart that I did the right thing and always was professional. I will really miss the kids. 

It's scary to think about being at home now, just as its exciting. April was a very stressful month- our grand baby turned one, our 4th wedding anniversary was yesterday and it was a total bust. We celebrated the purchase of our home a year ago Friday. And I retire tomorrow. I have to remember to breathe.

alz+
Posted: Thursday, April 27, 2017 8:20 AM

Obrien!

one more day. I bet the kids love you. I hope you find yourself tutoring or volunteering in another way with (or being paid) in future.

You seem very together, you prepared as best as  possible. This is about your comfort, your new life. Change is hard even when you want to make the change.

I read somewhere that the normal human takes 3 months before a new change feels as normal as what we left behind.

I am cheering you on. You are wonderful. Can you give the kids something in remembrance? they will all be leaving things in their future and starting over many times. 

so impressed with your fortitude and grace under pressure. 

How many times will you get up  and dress before you realize "I don't have do be anywhere today!" None? 2? 

I am honored to be part of the people you know here. Good job.  

Mimi S.
Posted: Thursday, April 27, 2017 8:35 AM

Hi O'Brian,