RSS Feed Print
Helping the Great, the Magnificent Mr. Driftwood!!!
Dan the Man
Posted: Thursday, January 5, 2012 11:58 PM

Hello all you fine alz.org forum folks!  So I've been working with the lovely "Mr. Driftwood" for nearly 5 years now.  I just returned to New York from living abroad to find my sweet octogenarian in pretty dire shape.  Namely, his body posture is significantly more slumped/curved than it has been in the past.  It's gotten to the point where I can hardly make eye contact when he's not in bed.  The PT is bringing us a chair on Monday that pivots a bit and should provide him 20 or so degrees of rotation that will hopefully help remind him that there's more to this world than his lap.  In  case the chair doesn't work, do others have any insights on how to get this tough dude to elevate his eyes?  This is my first time in this forum, so I thought I'd air out all of my concerns going forward and see if any of you have successfully responded to similar issues or have any ideas for us.  
Mr. Driftwood's family is full of rockstar-nurturers and we're all pretty competent in enacting positive change for him, so no suggestions or pieces of advice will go unscrutinized.  In order of importance, I give you a few of our concerns:
1)  Eye-level
      -How to get him to raise his eyes?  Right now the only things that work are walks and playing catch (but its dern cold and he's really not that interactive during catch)
2)  Rotten Teeth