RSS Feed Print
My lack of emotions
JoseyWales
Posted: Sunday, November 17, 2019 3:52 PM

I was wondering if any of you feel the same way as me. Does anyone find that keeping your emotions in check all the time causes you to not have emotional responses any more?

I work as a special education teacher, with young students with behavior issues. I take care of my husband, who seems to be heading into stage 6. All day long I keep my emotions in check, because my students look to me for a calming influence. It does no good to reflect back their angry, sad or frustrated emotions. And if I show that I'm angry, sad or frustrated, they pick up my feelings and magnify them.

DH is the same way. I have to show my calm self. I can't ever be angry, sad or frustrated or he will be, too. I have to be happy and calm at all times. When he's upset, I have to act even happier so that he feels like things are ok.

Last week, I scared myself. Something horrible happened at my school, and I felt no emotions surrounding the event. Others around me were crying, I felt nothing. Then a friend's mother died - and I feel no emotion.  DH forgot my name for the first time - I still feel nothing. And something super exciting happened for my son - I still feel nothing. I should be happy for him, but there's just no emotion there. I think I faked my way through those events, because I know what the correct response should be, but....

I'm scaring myself with my lack of response. It's probably time to go back on some antidepressants, and maybe find a way to visit with a counselor.

Crushed
Posted: Sunday, November 17, 2019 3:57 PM

My therapist asks me about this all the time.  It's call "emotional detachment" and was often the first sign  for PTSD in military and first responders.

https://i.imgur.com/CokSu4J.jpg

Donr
Posted: Sunday, November 17, 2019 5:23 PM

I very seldom show any emotions.  It's just the way I am. Sometimes I just think that I am not normal.
lvcatlvr