RSS Feed Print
DAI (Dec 9/10) Meeting of the Minds Speaker Nicole Batsch
The_Sun_Still_Rises
Posted: Tuesday, November 17, 2015 9:54 AM
Joined: 7/24/2015
Posts: 3020


DETAILS: http://www.dementiaallianceinternational.org/dai-a-meeting-of-the-minds-with-international-speaker-nicole-batsch/

 

A Meeting of the Minds, Dementia, Dementia Alliance International, Dementia Friendly

DAI A Meeting Of The Minds, with

International speaker Nicole Batsch

 

Wednesday December 9 (USA/UK)

Thursday December 10 (AU/NZ)

 

Dementia Friendly Communities Defined

Key Components for a Successful Start

 

About our event: In England where there are over 60 towns and cities that are working towards becoming Dementia Friendly Communities, a large scale expert and public consensus process took place from 2014-2015 to define the common elements of what being “dementia-friendly” means. This process culminated in the publishing of the British Standard Code of Practice for the Recognition of Dementia-Friendly Communities in England developed by the British Standards Institute and the Alzheimer’s Society with funding from the Department of Health and launched in July 2015.  The aim was that this code of practice would help to support existing communities and to inspire new communities.

It provides recommendations on:

•Who needs to be involved in setting up a dementia-friendly community

•Aims and goals that should be central to all dementia-friendly communities

•Areas to focus on and the processes needed for your dementia-friendly community to operate successfully

•The positive changes for people with dementia that we would expect to see from a dementia-friendly community

 

About our Speaker:  Nicole Batsch has over 18 years experience in developing and supporting ageing and dementia care  programmes across the US and globally.  She is currently obtaining her PhD from King’s College London and is a consultant with Alzheimer’s Disease International.  In this role, she co-authored the World Alzheimer’s Report 2012:  Overcoming the stigma of dementia which included a global survey of stigmatising experiences of people with dementia and family caregivers and serves as an adviser to the World Health Organisation on a family caregiver education programme.  In this session, Nicole will be discussing her involvement with the British Standards Institute and the Alzheimer’s Society in developing the British Standard Code of Practice for the Recognition of Dementia Friendly Communities in England.

 

Date: Wednesday December 9 / Thursday December 10, 2015

Speaker: Nicole Batsch, PhD candidate from Kings College, UK

 

Wednesday December 9 Start Time (USA/CA/UK/EU):

•12.00 p.m. Pacific Time (San Francisco);

•1.00 p.m. Mountain Time (Denver);

•2.00 pm Central Time (Chicago)

•3.00 p.m. Eastern Time (Washington DC);

•10.00 a.m. in Honolulu, Hawaii;

•8.00 p.m. in the UK, London;

•9.00 p.m. in Paris and Budapest.

 

Thursday December 10 Start time (Australia/NZ/Japan/Indonesia):

•6.00 a.m. in Brisbane;

•7.00 a.m. Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne, Hobart;

•4.00 a.m. in Perth;

•6.30 a.m. in Adelaide ;

•9.00 a.m. in Auckland, New Zealand;

•3.00 a.m. in Indonesia;

•5.00 a.m. in Tokyo, Japan

 

The WEBINAR will run for 1.5 hours. To find out the start time in your city, click here…

 

FREE for people with dementia, and their caregivers. 

Register here: http://www.eventbrite.com/e/dai-a-meeting-of-the-minds-nicole-batsch-dementia-friendly-communities-defined-key-components-for-a-tickets-19369319155?aff=mcivte&mc_eid=73f39f6011&mc_cid=ccf9dfb1e7