RSS Feed Print
alz+ art
jfkoc
Posted: Wednesday, July 18, 2018 3:17 PM

I have been talking about the value of art for well over 5 years on these boards. My interest began at my 50th high school reunion when I caught up with a schoolmate starting with grade school.

Her mother, a painter, was diagnosed with AD. Here is site about their art journey,

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Remember_Better_When_I_Paint

I would love to know your thoughts.

alz+
Posted: Monday, July 23, 2018 5:05 AM

I crave a space to paint. Not going to happen. I am total amateur which is how I love to paint so much, no desire to be "good".

Could pick up a pencil and draw, and have, but can not begin.

I am going to check the link you shared. A woman friend I met 2 years ago on a walk is moving here this week. Maybe she will have a place in her house to paint, she has cognitive problems and we get along well.

I used to buy half done paintings at garage sales or thrift stores and paint over them, would listen to lectures from Sounds True and paint for hours. Happiest I ever was in my life!

wah wah wah. seriously bummed, planned on it being fun during winters esp.

Canada111
Posted: Monday, July 23, 2018 1:43 PM

Thanks for the link to "I Remember Better When I Paint". Some blossom in AD and can paint and draw at home if they are already set up for it. It's great if the caregiver/spouse sets up an area for the loved one to make art, and encourages them to produce art. Motivation to set up an area to do this oneself goes away in AD, I find. 

I still draw and always have. I was never a painter. I was a printmaker and graphic artist and a filmmaker. I was an art historian and taught that subject so when I go to museums, I still know a lot about the art and artists work, especially Western art. I attend museum programs for people who have dementia. A companion to a man with early AD told me I could lead a discussion about the art. This is not the case, but it was a complement anyway. 

jfkoc