RSS Feed Print
This is Tougher Than I Thought!
RainStorm
Posted: Thursday, June 27, 2019 8:32 PM

After 6 years of almost constant care, my Dad passed away -- not from the dementia, but from undiagnosed brain cancer.  In 12 days he went from walking, talking, living a good life (with moderate dementia) to bedridden, delusional, and in agonizing pain.  He was diagnosed on a Thursday morning at the ER after a fall.  I got 24 hour nurses to stay with him.  He could walk, with a walker, but just barely.   The next day, Friday, I had to put him in a wheelchair.  I called in hospice.  He immediately qualified.  The next day, he was bedridden.    Seven days later, he went into a coma and was moved to the hospice house.  Less than 30 hours after getting there, he passed.  

I'm a teacher.  The same day he passed was the last workday for teachers (I had taken off a week earlier to spend more time with Dad.)  If you don't know many teachers, you don't know this, but teachers take off for summer vacations and trips right after the end of the  school year.  

So Dad has passed.  I don't have any work to go to until August.  I have nothing to do all day.  All my colleagues are out of town.  My dearest friend is out of the country for the summer.  My social circle has been seriously limited because of 6 years of caring for dad in my every waking hour.  I live in a very remote area.  I looked into volunteering, but the only two that still have openings both require week-long training sessions first, and the next ones are at the end of July.  I go back to work the first week of August, so that wouldn't really help.

I have one brother.  He came for 2 days after Dad passed, and helped me empty out his apartment.  Then he went home.  I love him, but he isn't terribly supportive.  I don't have any other family.