RSS Feed Print
Six Impossible Things Before Breakfast
MrToad
Posted: Friday, March 8, 2019 7:36 AM

I always liked the idea that Alice’s Red Queen could believe six impossible things before breakfast. As a scientist, I found that’s only a bit of an exaggeration. For a long time the scientific community puzzled over whether light was a wave--an oscillation of force--or a discrete particle. Eventually the answer emerged that it is both. In some ways it is a wave; in others, it’s a particle. This impossible thing to believe is just a warm up to some of the truly weird things about quantum physics, like the new computers that work with bits of data that are both zero and one at the same time. Say what?

As a Christian, I am also accustomed to believing impossible dualities. Was Jesus a man, or God? Not all people of faith quite agree, but many Christians hold the “impossible” opinion that the person we know as Jesus Christ was indeed both fully human and fully God.

So, as I hold my daily nonsense conversations with my DW, I have no problem observing that she is obviously not the person she once was, babbling as she does about the conversation I know she didn’t just have with her long-deceased Mommy. Yet I know absolutely that my sweetheart is still indeed that same person I married long ago.

I know that some folks have great difficulty with this duality within their Loved Ones. They see that so much seems to be gone, and of course they mourn that loss. But I believe it is so important to know that our Loved Ones are indeed still our Loved Ones, diminished, AND whole, human AND Transcendant, wave AND particle. I will never stop believing impossible things. But now I’m going to have some breakfast.

jfkoc
Posted: Friday, March 8, 2019 9:06 AM

Thank you for putting into words what I could not.
chrisp1653
Posted: Friday, March 8, 2019 12:44 PM