RSS Feed Print
Moving to Memory Care--how to make it easiest.
deepbluesea
Posted: Friday, September 13, 2019 12:09 PM

My husband was doing very well at home but had a steep slide over the summer and is in a geri-psych facility now.  He remembers very little and at my last visit he said "I'd forgotten you exist"-- though he was very glad to see me.  He's getting out of the geri-psych next week and will go memory care. 

He'll come by ambulance from geri-psych I think-- should I be at the memory care place to meet him and help him get settled in?  Are there best practices for this move?  I want him to feel safe and at home there, as much as possible. Any suggestions or experiences would be great to know of.

Ed1937
Posted: Friday, September 13, 2019 12:28 PM

Welcome to the forums. Sorry you are dealing with this now. I know it's a very hard thing to do. While I have no experience with what you are asking, I'm sure the MC deals with this all the time. Ask them what they recommend for you. They should want the same thing as you - an easy transition.
deepbluesea
Posted: Saturday, September 14, 2019 7:38 AM

Thank you both.  The thing is, it's my husband--so he's going to expect I'll be moving in with him.  (He's in a fog of course so this will come and go, and the minute I leave he'll forget I've been there.)  But I'd love to know how others have managed this.  He's been in and out of different hospitals and skilled nursing facilities for 3 months, and I don't think he has a strong sense of what home is, except that it's with me.
Mainer1
Posted: Saturday, September 14, 2019 9:05 AM