RSS Feed Print
I saw a woman today that looked almost identical to my mom
shirleywhirley
Posted: Sunday, November 9, 2014 9:05 PM

I was shopping today and parked my car in front of the store that I was going in.  It was a thrift shop and I had items to donate, so I went to the rear of my vehicle to open up the trunk so I could remove the bags of donated goods.  I shut the trunk and glanced at the car parked next to me.  I was thunder struck.  Sitting in the front passenger seat was a very old woman.  She looked so much like my mother I was frozen staring at her. I studied her mouth, her hair and the color of her complexion.  I mouthed to her "You look like my mother."  The woman smiled at me.  I walked a little closer to the window she was looking out of and smiled at her.  I touched my heart and mouthed to her again, "You look like my mother."  She lifted her hand to her lips and blew me a kiss.  I cannot find the words to describe my feelings.  That is exactly what my mother used to do to me - she would blow me a kiss once in a while, just the way this woman did.  For an instant she looked like my  mother - identical.

I turned away and cried.  I walked into the thrift shop and cried.  I went back outside to wait for the owner of the vehicle so I could ask them if I could talk to the lady in their car.  I wanted to explain that she looked like my mother.  I waited quite a while but no one came. 

I shopped a little in the store and when I was done, I walked to my vehicle.  The little old lady was still sitting in the vehicle.  I smiled at her and waived.

I wonder if that was my mother??  I will go on believing that it was.  I wanted to share this story with all of you.  I feel like I had a glimpse of my mother today - sent from heaven.

KML
Posted: Wednesday, November 12, 2014 11:30 AM