RSS Feed Print
How to handle DH's negativity
Trish F
Posted: Wednesday, February 26, 2020 11:58 AM

I'm still learning how to navigate this horrible this horrible process. I've seen loneliness discussed (yes, I feel that daily), but am wondering how to handle my DH's negativity.  He was diagnosed late last year with memory/cognitive issues - doc is still not giving this an exact name but seems like dementia pretty well covers it.

Good days are embraced, but the negativity can be overwhelming to me and I don't know how to handle it.  I work full time (luckily from home) but I still have to bring my A game when working.  I'm looking into retiring at the end of this year/early next so I can focus on DH more. Maybe even find a place we can volunteer together - because I know he's bored.

He's still able to get out and run an errand or two, but no longer wants to do that.  Even when I make a suggestion of things to do around our apartment, he doesn't want to do.  He seems to want to complain rather than contribute (even simple tasks). 

This is one of DH negative days, so I'm just hiding out in my office.

Thank you for listening!

Marie58
Posted: Wednesday, February 26, 2020 12:31 PM

Trish, welcome to the forum. You found a great place to be to help you navigate this disease.

Could he be depressed? My DH was put on an anti-depressant early on. In the early stages he was frustrated by things he couldn't do anymore. I was amazed at what he couldn't do that I thought were simple things. Your DH may not actually be able to do some of the things you're referring to, and his response is negativity. Besides the anti-depressant I found it helpful to do things together. I wouldn't say, 'let me help you', or 'let me do it'. Instead I'd say, 'let's do this together.' Small difference, but I think it showed him he could still do things.

Rescue mom
Posted: Wednesday, February 26, 2020 12:33 PM