Apply Now
RSS Feed Print
Help, I am new at this
Anonymous
Posted: Tuesday, January 17, 2012 5:41 PM
Originally posted by: D K

Welcome to the site. I don't post much but do read. My husband was diagnosed with FTD (frontotemporal dementia) when he was 58. He doesn't speak much and is cognitively about a 3 year old. It is difficult.

With regard to the abbreviations, click on the find button and search abbreviations. There is a pretty good thread on them in the caregivers forum.

You can add your location to your posts, but I don't remember how I did it.
Internal Administrator

Originally posted by: Aminda

I am new at this. I don't understand the abbrivations. And also I was wondering, are we allowed to say where we live. I would love to get a group together just to talk in person with. Or to help each other when we are having problems.
Aminda
Anonymous
Originally posted by: LCB

Aminda, there probably is a group you could attend. Call your local alzheimer's organization. They have been very helpful to me. As for a meeting close to me, I may have to start one. You could too. We can't do this alone. As you will see the more your read here. Welcome to the message board and please ask questions. Tell us a bit more about yourself also. We care.
Anonymous

quote:
Originally posted by D K:
Welcome to the site. I don't post much but do read. My husband was diagnosed with FTD (frontotemporal dementia) when he was 58. He doesn't speak much and is cognitively about a 3 year old. It is difficult.

With regard to the abbreviations, click on the find button and search abbreviations. There is a pretty good thread on them in the caregivers forum.

Thank you for the info. I never new there were different kinds of dementia, and stages. Now I wonder what stage my husband is in. He was diagnosed with alz. about 6 years ago. He is still able to stay by himself, but i worry a lot so I will be cutting back on my hours at work to be with him...NOT FUN
aminda
Anonymous