Caregiving resources for every stage of the disease.
RSS Feed Print
"Baby" Monitor
Kathy43
Posted: Saturday, November 1, 2014 7:25 PM

My 84 year old Mom is late stage 5 & can't be left alone anymore.  I have caregivers when I go to work, otherwise I am with her. She also can't walk without a walker, but guess what, she can't remember to use it.  I know that will never change, so have any of you bought some type of audio/video monitor that I could put in her room so that even by the light of a nightlight I could see when she is starting to get up?

The thing is I've been doing 24/7 for 14 months & I would like to steal some time back for me.  I think it would be good for me to resume walking on the treadmill, but I can't hear her pressure pad alarm go off while on the treadmill, so maybe if I get some type of monitor that I can watch & listen to while on the treadmill???

Any help would be appreciated.
bluepenguin1601
Posted: Saturday, November 1, 2014 7:40 PM

WHen I had my first child I bought a video monitor made by Summer Infant. Very basic, but infared camera so that you can see her in the dark, decent range for reception, the screen is a good size with a good picture, rechargeable battery, and you can turn the picture off while still leaving the audio on. The camera can be set on top of a dresser/table top or mounted on the wall and it does swivel/bend so that you can get the best view. I bought it at Babies R Us for around $100, which in researching the video monitors seems to be about average. It's been dropped, kicked, thrown, swung around like a yo-yo and it is still going strong 6 years later. 
TessC
Posted: Saturday, November 1, 2014 8:15 PM

I bought this and it works even in low light.

SMART CAREGIVER TL-5102MP Motion Sensor And Pager

bluepenguin1601
Posted: Saturday, November 1, 2014 11:46 PM