RSS Feed Print
translate EXERCISE into ENJOYABLE MOVEMENT tai chi & yoga
alz+
Posted: Monday, June 1, 2015 11:06 AM

I believe that many people get great benefit from exercise. I worked as a massage therapist for 20+ years treating chronic conditions and helping athletes regain free range of movement.

My training showed how massage encourages people to use their bodies to move, and while some of us have other conditions which prevent us from going to a gym, or doing cross fit training the human body was designed to move.

I started recording a movement class from public tv station and benefited immediately. They sessions are 23 minutes long, lead by a former dancer and she takes the class through continuous movements that come from ballet, pilates, yoga and tai chi.

http://www.essentrics.com/agingbackwards.html

I would like to buy the 2 dvd's and find someone locally to lead a class for people with dementia, Parkinson's, MS, cancer...it would be really fun.

Mimi always stresses the importance of exercise in relation to staying well while living with dementia. Many days I have had bed lock, unable to walk to road and back.

I let those days go and do some stretches while lying there, deep breathing, relaxation.

If mowing the lawn with a push mower is something you love - that qualifies. Dancing qualifies. raking leaves while listening to music. exercise classes to music some insurance pays for (Silver Sneakers is close to me). Swimming is fabulous. Hitting tennis balls against wall if not a volley with a friend. Putting. Gardening.

You also have muscle memory and tissue memory and cell memory. Movement stimulates the lymphatic system, increasing blood flow to organs and brain.

My dog insists I walk with her twice a day minimum, when I can not she lies on top of me waiting...enough to make me get up and go a little part of a good walk.