Caregiving resources for every stage of the disease.
RSS Feed Print
I'm new to this side of the board.
susan64in
Posted: Wednesday, October 21, 2015 12:45 PM

Hello,

I have been diagnosed, with hypertension, cluster migraines and have many complaints from co-workers about my memory issues. My mom died of Alzheimer's in 2011. It was long horrible death. I have had other family issue and great stress over the pass five years, Last month I came across an e-mail at work that I was not suppose to see and it stated I had been asked several times to do something but I am not comprehending. I work as a teacher's asst. and have been making more mistakes grading papers, In fact the teacher had to take over grading tests, due to parent complaints of my mistakes. My Dr. thinks it is from my hypertension and advised me to go down to a substitute position, due to stroke risk factors. I have been to a Neuro. psych and he said the only decline shown is in the area of concentration. Neurologist in are area are a joke. We only have three and it takes several months to get into one. When I finally did get an appointment I was made to feel like I was wasting the neurologist time, until I ended up in the hospital with a blood pressure reading of 186/100 and sever head aches. All MRI's and other test are negative.That was a year ago. After this happened I was not able to work and had to go to speech and PT for three months to recover from my migraine attack. The Dr. said it falls under the TIA umbrella.

I had another attack last month and went to my family Dr. I asked him if this is all the better I will get and he said yes. I asked about Alzheimer's and he said he's hates to give me a diagnosis, but with the work complaints it is possible, but he also thought it could be due to high anxiety and stress...which are contributing factors to Alzheimer's but they do not want to give me that diagnosis yet..so for now I'm vascular dementia.