Caregiving resources for every stage of the disease.
RSS Feed Print
Durable Power of attorney(1)
Pahda
Posted: Monday, September 11, 2017 9:39 PM

Hello,

I'm new to these message boards, but I have a question.  My father was diagnosed with mixed dementia two years ago and at that time he was in the early stage. He and I agreed at that time that since the house was transferred to me many years before all of the household expenses would be transferred to me. So we did. But he kept his personal checking account and sends me money monthly. We also added me to his bank account.  My question is since everything except a few of his credit cards is in my name do I still need a durable power of attorney? He and I didn't think we did but we just had an issue with his credit card company where they contacted Adult Protection Services.  I guess they thought I was taking advantage of my dad instead of taking care like I have been. Any advice would be appreciated. 

Thank you! 

Paula Haas

TessC
Posted: Monday, September 11, 2017 11:06 PM

Yes, I think it is a good idea to have DPOA. You may need it for other things-like placement into a nursing home or if you need to talk to a federal government department.

If you don't want to go the route of DPOA, and the credit card company is having a fit about it, get your name on his checking acct and credit cards as well. The credit card company was only doing their job and that is a good thing because there are children who abuse their parents financially. Wish more credit card companies care enough to make waves instead of just caring about the money they make on CC usage. Good luck to you and your father. He sounds very dear!

Pahda
Posted: Monday, September 11, 2017 11:46 PM