Caregiving resources for every stage of the disease.
RSS Feed Print
early dementia, denial. How do I get my family to see? Help a caregiver out!
Nikki_
Posted: Wednesday, February 7, 2018 11:35 AM

Hi! This is my first time using the resources on the alz site.

My grandmother is 85 years old and was recently diagnosed with Dementia in December 2017 and moved in with my boyfriend and myself at the same time.

I am her caregiver and it has definitely been a roller coaster. 

I dont know what to do. I try my best to be patient and agreeable with her but it is hard and draining.

Diagnosis is early and my grandmother seems to be in denial, which doesn't help. She tells family and friends that I treat her like a baby and that she is fine. Some days she screams when I cook for her saying she can do it on her own but she has been with me two months now and hasn't made herself anything other than a bowl of cereal or PB&J. If I don't make her a meal or put it in front of her...it's like she doesn't even know she needs to eat.

Anyone else experience this?

The one night she said she wanted to make dinner. This was around 5pm. Just to see if she could I said I'd love that. She never stepped foot in the kitchen but kept saying she would cook. Around 8pm my boyfriend started cooking and she went on a rant about how starving she was and didn't think she'd eat tonight. Other times I've made myself a lunch, when she's told me she wants to make her own or isn't hungry,  and then I hear her mumbling under her breath....well I guess I'm not eating today.     

She'll ask me to take her to the bank. Before we get up to the teller she generally forgets why we are there. Almost never remembers her act #. She's had the acct for at least 40years.

She tells me she needs SO MANY things from the grocery store, so I take her. We walk up and down every aisle and she doesn't get a single item.