Help keep your loved ones safe with the Home Safety Checklist.
RSS Feed Print
Signs of medicine needing tweaked ?
Space within
Posted: Sunday, February 10, 2019 8:02 PM

Hello everyone (( )) 

My LO with FTLD (specifically PPA-L) has been becoming more moody, losing interest in watching her favorite DVDs, becoming more and more confused ...and a few other things.

I understand it may just be the disease taking it's course but wondering if anyone out there has any tips of picking up on clues when your LO may need their medicine dose changed?  

It is winter, also, so maybe she is just getting cabin fever or something.

Happy Sunday . Thank you for reading.

Doityourselfer
Posted: Sunday, February 10, 2019 8:46 PM

I've been keeping a daily log on my EO AD husband since 2016.  He has been on various medications to "slow the progression" of this horrible disease, as well as the anti psychotic Seroquel.  Looking back to 2016 his behaviors are the same, still hallucinates, gets agitated, curses, memory problems.

He currently is taking galantamine and seroquel.  I don't believe the dementia meds have helped slow his progression or helped his mood.  Seroquel helps him sleep, that's it.  He's now Stage 6, has had a few accidents urinating in his underwear in the middle of the night because he can't find the bathroom quickly.  He doesn't pay attention to sports on tv or anything else.  Definitely more confused as time goes on.

Ask your LO 's doctor if he or she thinks a change in dosage could help. Best of luck to you.

Space within
Posted: Sunday, February 10, 2019 9:08 PM

Thank you doityourself for sharing your experience. LO is currently on Namenda, Zoloft and Trazodone. I will keep monitoring LO and see how things go.
mostlyme
Posted: Monday, February 11, 2019 2:31 AM