RSS Feed Print
Could use some answers and or support
Stacey_S5
Posted: Monday, October 28, 2019 3:42 PM

Hi all, I am very new to this. Anyway, a little bit of background information on my situation. My mom is 76 years old and is still completely independent. She lives alone, drives, and manages all of her Dr. Appointments, etc. She also teaches Sunday school at her church every Sunday. Up until last year, she drove to California every Thanksgiving and Christmas to see my sister all by herself (we live in Colorado). Her and I have always been very close, as I'm her only local daughter. We see each other once a week or more. That being said, she is VERY private about some things including her medical situations. 

I have noticed some changes in her memory these past couple of years. She will sometimes repeat things or forget a word here and there. Two things though really concern me. She got a new phone a couple of months ago, and cannot figure out how to use it half the time. And an even more concerning event happened just today. I teach 4 different college classes at various times throughout the week. She has my schedule of when I am teaching written down at her house. She is out of town visiting an old friend this week. I get done teaching my class and I have a missed call from her. I call her back panicked, thinking there was an emergency since she called me during my class time. As it turns out, she had NO idea what time I was teaching because she left my schedule at home. I have been teaching at the same time for 2 months now. Anyway, as I said earlier, she is VERY private about her medical situation. I know she goes for a physical once a year, and they give her some sort of memory test there, that she always passes but that is about it. I don't know how to bring up my concern to her. I love her dearly and I absolutely hate to watch her decline, but I don't know how to help.

SunnyBeBe
Posted: Monday, October 28, 2019 4:05 PM