Site Maintenance Completed.  Click here for details.

RSS Feed Print
How much warning do you give LO before moving them out of their home?
unfairmom
Posted: Tuesday, November 5, 2019 9:56 AM

I have been caring for my grandmother for almost 3 years. I am grateful that I had the opportunity to help her stay in her home, but we are reaching a point where she needs more help than I can give without neglecting my own family.

Our pastor suggested I have her Sunday school class talk with her. My aunt and uncle think the doctor should be the one to tell her it's time.

I understand that her doctors and friends have more experience talking about the transition to a nursing home. But I feel like I should give my grandmother a heads up.
Then again, if there is nothing she can do about it, will I be doing more harm to her mental health by adding to the weeks she has to dread being removed from her house? Or will it be good to give her a chance to give input and say goodbye to her friends and siblings?

Physically she only has 1 or 2 good days per week where she can dress herself and do her own dishes or laundry. Mentally she spends a large portion of the day too tired to think straight. Like if I prompt her to take a shower so we can go somewhere, there's a 70% chance she will forget why she's walking toward the bathroom and go to bed.
SunnyBeBe
Posted: Tuesday, November 5, 2019 10:17 AM

It's good to think this through.  It's a personal decision, but, I would read about what others have experienced in making your decision.