RSS Feed Print
How do you handle the guilt?
hillybean3015
Posted: Wednesday, November 6, 2019 10:38 AM

We recently told my grandmother that she cannot be driving anymore. Three different doctors had recommended that at her stage of dementia she should no longer drive, so we decided to go ahead and have the conversation with her. She cried. All she kept saying is "I'm a good driver, I've never done anything wrong." ect.... And she's right. She hasn't crashed or gotten into a wreck. Recently she has run over large curbs and things like that, so we didn't want to risk a more severe situation. I know this is doctors orders and I know that this is in the best interest for her and everyone else on the road. But it hurts to see her upset. She's sad and feels like we are punishing her. It hurts to think that she drove for the last time and didn't even know it would be the last time. 

How have you all handled this guilt? It really hurts to see her so sad about losing her independence so suddenly. 

Rescue mom
Posted: Wednesday, November 6, 2019 11:07 AM

I looked at most of such things like dealing with a toddler you have to protect. Sometimes they get upset because you don’t let them play in the road, or because they are not allowed to play “House” with cleaning chemicals. Yes, they are upset, but it’s for their own protection and benefit, as well as others safety.

You know what else is sad? I live in a big retiree area. Regularly the news shows an elder in the courtroom, or in handcuffs, or sobbing on the street, because “I never had a problem driving before,” “I just stopped for a second,” “I thought this was my turn,” etc.. 

They are being arrested, or hearing a jail sentence, or being they’ve lost everything in a lawsuit, because they caused damage or worse in a car accident. Quite often they say they’ve had no “big” problems driving, but here they are.