RSS Feed Print
Reviews of specific facilities. (Memory care and assisted living)
Deborah L.
Posted: Monday, November 11, 2019 12:06 PM

Hi all! I'm a newbie here. My mom and dad are have been in assisted living for several years. She takes care of dad (he has demential) when she can (she's got medical issues too.) We have discovered that the facility they are in has a lot of problems. We would like to consider moving them to a better facility, in terms of both care and kindness of care.

I am seeking a thread/website where I can read reviews and discussion of specific Assisted Living facilities and Memory Care units written by actual residents and actual adult children of residents. All I've found online thus far are companies promoting various facilities under the guise of "reviews." 

Is there a thread that I haven't seen yet on AlzConnected where folks talk about specific facilities and their pro's and con's? If so, I would be so grateful if you could point me there.

Or if not, do you all think I should I start one? Would there be interest?

Thank you and I'm so grateful for this website and all your posts!

TessC
Posted: Monday, November 11, 2019 12:54 PM

Welcome. Of course anyone can start a topic so you are welcome to do so, but with the fact that we all live in different places, it is unlikely you will find people who have the info you want for your exact location.

When I was looking at facilities, I visited each one and even ate there. I also made another visit to talk to as many of the care team and admin that I could. I asked if they had a resident or family council and asked if I could talk to a representative. I had to do a lot of legwork and even  asked people around in the community-for example, doctors, nurses, the hospital's social worker, and I called the local Alz Assoc member for help, etc. Good luck!

mostlyme
Posted: Monday, November 11, 2019 1:29 PM

TessC wrote: