Home Safety Checklist
RSS Feed Print
Alone in this
Brooke Marie Mae
Posted: Thursday, September 3, 2015 5:36 AM

I know that a lot of others have early onset alzheimers but I don't know anyone that does. Noone seems to "get it". When I try to share about my memory loss and my fears they try to make me feel better by saying they have a bad memiry too. It's not the same and they just don't GET IT. Please talk to me. This is my first time on this board and I just lucked out and found this screen so hopefully I will be able to find your responses as well.
Iris L.
Posted: Thursday, September 3, 2015 7:09 AM

I understand completely, Brooke. Unlike some of the other members, I do not disclose anything about my memory loss to the public, because they have proven to me that they do not "get it." I am tired of being put down by them.

I confine my sharing about memory loss to this board.

Iris L.

alz+
Posted: Thursday, September 3, 2015 9:21 AM

Brooke - glad you posted about this. Very common.

I was one of those who USED to tell people about having ALZ - maybe I thought they would cut me slack. But I quit after a plumber came and walked off with a great bathroom faucet which I did not understand until he had left drive way.

Yes, talk about your issues here where we ALL get it.

I am married and living alone with it, most people are not cut out for caregiving and their reasons for staying are not helpful.

One other thing I noticed, my short term memory may be cutting out but a lot of other abilities remain. As I went along dealing with problems before diagnosis I learned (unknowingly) how to compensate.

Some of us have wonderful support, others are ignored, marginalized. It is awkward to be put in a position of trying to explain to people, even those you really feel close to, what it feels like, what it means to have dementia.

Right now, or whenever you feel stressed, don't bother with those who don't get it and beware of some who pretend they do.