Caregiving resources for every stage of the disease.
RSS Feed Print
Bridging The Two Worlds
The_Sun_Still_Rises
Posted: Monday, October 5, 2015 7:15 AM

I actively participate in the Alzheimer's Association forum that is primarily populated by caregivers. I have learned a lot, I have preserved my writing skills, and I have touched some lives which lets me know that I still have some value and worth in the world. However, being populated primarily by caregivers, it can give a very slanted view of things in the world for someone like me, who happens to also have dementia.

In life, I have a foot in three of the worlds on that forum. I have been caring for my mother for the last 10 years, and continue to care for her even now; my daughter has come to care for me; and I was diagnosed with dementia. This gives me a somewhat unique perspective on the different sides of things.

What I find troubling and a bit of a challenge to grapple with, is that so much of what goes on in the world in terms of how we are treated and cared for, is created by people who don't have any idea what it is like to have the disease. They make guesses from the outside looking in, so to say.

Some general observations I have made in my time there: The spouses on the board have an easier time, overall, likely because they know their spouse as a human being, they are there all the time, and they likely adapted slowly along with the disease progression. The children caregivers of parents are the most outspoken and the most insistent in their ways, have a much harder time of it, get more behavior issues, and hesitate until drastic measures need to be taken, and don't see their parents as the people they are, but as the parent they used to be.