Caregiving resources for every stage of the disease.

Site Maintenance Completed.   Click here for details.

RSS Feed Print
What to do...
KarenMB
Posted: Saturday, November 7, 2015 4:12 PM

I'm 53 and mother of 9 year old and 4 older adult children who live states away.  I work full time as a (now untenured) teacher, which has gotten more difficult over time (for all teachers).  It requires a great deal of personal time to make it work and expectations have gone crazy to point where we all are so exhausted and fed up.  That being said...I've always had memory issues.  But over the past 4-5 years memory has gotten worse and is now impacting work and personal life.  I tried to get us rolling on long term care insurance but was already being seen by a holistic doc who at first thought distraction of ADD might have been the issue....he has since ruled it out based on my response to certain meds/lack of improvement.  He has since stated he firmly believes I have a form of dementia.  I believe this is now on record and most likely will impact getting long term care insurance.  I have not had memory testing through him or any other neurologist.  Dr. believes my stated experiences involving memory are all we need.  I have called my oldest son by my brother's name a number of times over the last few years.  I forget sometimes where our doctors /dentists are located and need to call my husband for directions if I can't find address in my phone.  I often don't recognize people who apparently know me well enough to know personal info.  I've used cover up strategies but folks are now on to me and my hubby and youngest child have directly seen/experienced the impact of my struggles.  I've burned food intensely while cooking because I forgot I was cooking and don't have sense of smell.  That happens regularly....even if I set a timer....    I've struggled recently while trying to get gas in my car...was pushing a sticker instead of a gas choice button and couldn't figure out how t