Caregiving resources for every stage of the disease.
RSS Feed Print
A Showing of Alzheimer's A Love Story
The_Sun_Still_Rises
Posted: Monday, February 6, 2017 6:49 AM
Joined: 7/24/2015
Posts: 3030


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alzheimer's A Love Story is the story of Michael Horvich and his partner Gregory who passed away of Alzheimer's in the fall of 2015, soon after I was dx'd.  I have been hearing from Michael Horvich of all the film fests that this have been wining awards at for over a year and I am very excited finally have a chance see it....hope you will check it out.  It tld from a care partner's perspective.

<3

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/dai-webinar-and-documentary-viewing-alzheimers-a-love-story-feb2223-2017-tickets-30938309316?mc_cid=62671da337&mc_eid=6f73d6a5be

DAI Webinar and Documentary viewing: "Alzheimer’s: A Love Story"

DAI's "A Meeting of The Minds" Documentary and Webinar Discussion with Michael Horvich

Documentary: "Alzheimer's: A love story"

  • February 22, 2017 - 3.30 PM (EST) New York USA

  • February 23, 2017 - 7.30 AM Sydney (AEDT) Australia


Please note: This event is set in a number of time zones, and has been set up using Adelaide, AU - but it is one event for everyone, Wednesday, February 22, 2017 (USA/UK/EU) and Thursday, February 23, 2017 (AU/NZ).


About the documentary Alzheimer's: A love story: A moving short documentary on the power of love through all obstacles, this love story beautifully captures one couple’s intimate struggle with a disease that indiscriminately impacts millions of people. Those diagnosed are often told they will live an average of eight years after their symptoms first become noticeable. It has been eleven years for Greg, who now lives in a memory care facility in Chicago. Every day, his husband Michael, a kind, earnest and resilient man who looks like Santa Claus and approaches the disease with the practicality of a retired educator (which he is), visits the love of his life and fights to preserve the memory of their 40 years together.

Alzheimer’s: A Love Story has screened at over 60 film festivals internationally and won over 30 awards, both audience and juried, including both the Best Short Film and Best LGBT Film at the Cannes American Pavilion Emerging Filmmakers Showcase.

Michael will introduce this moving documentary, and will be available for question time afterwards.

About Michael: Michael is a retired educator, administrator, and college instructor. He currently is an educator, writer, poet, book binder, photographer, artist, collector, museum curator emeritus, and actor. He won two Fellowships in Gifted Education from the State of Illinois, a Performing Arts Grant from the City of Chicago, and a two week Competitive Application Residency in creative non- fiction writing at The Ragdale Foundation in Lake Forest, Illinois.

He and his life partner Gregory Maire, are the subject of ALZHEIMER’S: A Love Story, which has been accepted by 45+ film festivals around the U.S. and World and has won 19+ awards. He is currently working on his memoirs: GYROSCOPE: An Alzheimer’s Love Story and a musical: ALZHEIMER’S: The Musical. He lives in Evanston with his cats Emma and Gigi. His life partner of 40+ years, Gregory left this life in October 2015.

Wednesday February 22, 2017, USA/CA/EU/UK

Start Time (USA/CA/UK/EU):

  • 12.30 p.m. Pacific Time (San Francisco);
  • 1.30 p.m. Mountain Time (Denver);
  • 2.30 pm Central Time (Chicago)
  • 3.30 p.m. Eastern Time (Washington DC, New York);
  • 12.30 p.m. Vancouver, Canada;
  • 10.30 a.m. in Honolulu, Hawaii
  • 8.30 p.m. in the UK;
  • 9.30 p.m. in Amsterdam, Paris and Budapest

Thursday February 23, 2017, 2017 AU/NZ/JPN

Start time (Australia/NZ/Japan/Indonesia)

  • 7.00 a.m. in Adelaide;
  • 6.30 a.m. in Brisbane;
  • 7.30 a.m. Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne;
  • 4.30 a.m. in Perth;
  • 9.30 a.m. in Auckland, New Zealand;
  • 5.30 a.m. in Tokyo, Japan

The WEBINAR will run for approximately 1 hour

You will receive an email confirmation that contains login details and instructions on how to join the online Webinar.

COST TO ATTEND:

Attending our events supports everyone connected to dementia, whether the person diagnosed, our care partners, or the professionals and research community who work to support us and improve our lives.

  • DAI MEMBER: FREE
  • UNEMPLOYED CARER: FREE
  • EMPLOYED OR SELF EMPLOYED PERSON REDUCED FEE: $US20
  • UNEMPLOYED STUDENTS: FREE (please send proof of your student ID)

DAI has to rely on an HONOUR registration system.

If you are employed or SELF employed, please do not register as an unemployed family supporter (carer) or a member of DAI.

The VERY modest fee for this service supports your education, and also supports our work, which most importantly, directly enables people with dementia to live with a higher quality of life.

If you need a certificate of attendance, please email us

Your donations are always appreciated and do make a difference:

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees

  • $US 60.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee

  • $US 120.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription

  • $US 300.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

Option: Our event ticketer, Eventbrite, charges us a transaction fee to cover fees and other processing costs, to securely process your donation. Please consider adding an additional small amount to your donation so 100% of your donation amount goes to Dementia Alliance International. 

 

 


jfkoc
Posted: Monday, February 6, 2017 2:09 PM
Joined: 12/4/2011
Posts: 13018


After being able to talk with some who are familiar with this documentary I want to relate that it will not be an easy watch for some
The_Sun_Still_Rises
Posted: Monday, February 6, 2017 5:43 PM
Joined: 7/24/2015
Posts: 3030


jfkoc wrote:
After being able to talk with some who are familiar with this documentary I want to relate that it will not be an easy watch for some

-----------------------------------------------------------

 

I am no sure why you'd say that....I hope not because it an LBGTQ+ couple???? 

<3

 


 

 



The_Sun_Still_Rises
Posted: Friday, February 17, 2017 5:48 AM
Joined: 7/24/2015
Posts: 3030


just bumping as it this week...

<3


 
× Close Menu