Help keep your loved ones safe with the Home Safety Checklist.
RSS Feed Print
Losing my cool
1cahija
Posted: Tuesday, May 9, 2017 9:56 AM

I'm very new to this.   My mom was diagnosed with vascular dementia 6 years ago and I have been struggling to understand this horrible disease.  On the outside my mom looks physically well but she lives in the past most of the time now...forgetting what happened a minute ago.  I'm an only child and so is my mom which leaves me very much alone to deal with this.  My mom has a home healthe aide who is great with her but sometimes I am afraid that i might lose her if my mom gets too much to handle.  My mom lives alone and it makes me feel like the worst daughter.  I could not live with my mom when she was well always nitpicking at my lifestyle....now it would be worse. I work so many hours to make extra money to pay for extra hours with the aide because the insurance won't give her more than 6 hours a day for 7 days.  I am a correction officer which isn't the safest or easiest job in the world...so needless to say my levels of stress are through the roof.   I stay with her on my days off from work to give the aide a break from my mom which of course makes me drained both physically and emotionally.   I totally lost my cool yesterday by yelling at her back and telling her if she didnt snap out of it i would send her to a home.   As soon as those words left my lips I felt horrible and i started to cry.   Two minutes later she was wondering why was i crying.  My partner suggested that I try a support group where I can vent out my frustrations and learn to deal with my moms illness.  So here I am.
Mimi S.
Posted: Tuesday, May 9, 2017 6:48 PM

Hi Cahija,

Welcome to our world. We're so glad you found us. Yes, you are overwhelmed and need help in figuring out how to relieve your stress. Do call our help line: 1-800-272-3900 and ask to speak with a Care Consultant.