Caregiving resources for every stage of the disease.
RSS Feed Print
Assistance with hospital bed/not swallowing
Lelematos
Posted: Tuesday, February 13, 2018 10:30 AM

Hi good morning,

I am new to this my father has Alzheimer’s and it seems to me that it’s progressing. I am very ignorant to this horrific disease. But I have some concerns with my father he just recently is starting to drool and won’t swallow his saliva. we have to constantly remind him to swallow he is having a hard time getting up and down from anywhere(bed, sofa, chairs). I just asked his doctor if he can help us out with getting him a hospital bed. If anyone can please give me or help with any information. It will appreciated. What is the process with the hospital bed with the doctor? With swallowing I don’t know what else to do. His neurologist said to cut his sleeping pill in half? Will that even help... please anyone out there with any info???? 

ruthmendez
Posted: Tuesday, February 13, 2018 10:51 AM

hospital bed:  I would request prescription from doctor and check online medicare DME suppliers https://www.medicare.gov/supplierdirectory/search.html and call nearest supplier if your father has medicare.

I did the exact thing for a hoyer lift and transport chair for my father, my father only has medicare. 

If your father has other insurances it might be quicker for the doctor to get it for you, but I really don't know.

It took a while for me to get the equipment I needed because the doctor's office system was down for two freaken weeks and then I had to wait for the doctor to fill out the forms the supplier needed for him to fill out and send back to get medicare approval.

Marta
Posted: Tuesday, February 13, 2018 11:25 AM