Help keep your loved ones safe with the Home Safety Checklist.

Site Maintenance Completed.  Click here for details.

RSS Feed Print
Frequent Senior Moments Concern
RetiredGeek
Posted: Monday, December 24, 2018 5:34 PM

Hi folks. This is my first post. I was recently diagnosed with Mild Neurocognitive Disorder and continuing evaluation for possible dementia.

I've been complaining to my wife and family about memory loss concerns for the past couple of years. It has been pronounced in the past 6-8 months. I realized that I now have 15+ senior moments daily and having issues spelling common words. I am a retired systems engineer and for 30+ years maintained an extensive tech/science vocabulary and mathematical skillset.

I feel like I have a fraction of the memory and cognitive ability I had 10 years ago. I have also developed severe writer's block and have become anxious and depressed in spite of Prozac and Wellbutrin.

I'm a little freaked out that the decline has become more pronounced recently (at least to myself). My wife tells me to chill out as we don't have a definitive diagnosis and I may not progress. I hear what she's saying, and I try not to worry. That hasn't worked and I decided to join this community today.

So, are there other folks like myself in this community? Is there a discussion board or different website that focuses on pre-diagnosis anxiety?

Regards and Merry Christmas and Happy New Year wishes to all.

Iris L.
Posted: Monday, December 24, 2018 6:32 PM

Welcome Retired Geek.  I am a retired pediatrician and I have been dealing with cognitive impairment for well over thirty years.  I have been on this message board for over nine years for the most part plateaued but with some changes this past year ( 2018).