RSS Feed Print
Glad you are here
Sally A
Posted: Saturday, May 25, 2019 9:33 AM

Hello thank you,

My sister and I I've been caring for my mom for over 5 years. Sib did it all by herself for two years until her wife started getting too upset about it. I am now taking Mom three weeks out of four but I need to find a way so that I can take her all the time because flying up to Portland and back is really bad for her. I really need support.

I live in the East Bay of the San Francisco Bay area. I'm hoping to find other people who are single caregivers. I wish I was a web developer because I think a matchmaking service for caregivers would be extremely helpful useful and loved.

Thank you, thank you again for being here. I know that this is a low-traffic list but I just wanted to say hi. I'll go on over to the caregivers forum now.

Sally

Jo C.
Posted: Sunday, May 26, 2019 8:07 AM

Hello Sally, and welcome to the alzconnected Message Board.   You do indeed have a challenge with the air travel, and I can well understand the difficulties there must be with your mother having to fly back and forth between SF and Portland every three weeks.   You are correct in assessing that is not a good situation and one that can abruptly become fraught with all sorts of unexpected and unforeseen issues.

There is an organization located in San Francisco, called, "Family Caregiver Alliance."  The link to the website will give you an idea of their purpose and mission.  They are very helpful.  If you go to the the top of their web page and click on who they are, they have information about their services:  They have so much going on and often have really excellent no fee webinair presentations on different topics related to caregiving.  I enjoy getting their emailed publications and updates on all sorts of things; it is worth signing up for that.  There are no fees involved.

https://www.caregiver.org/about-fca