RSS Feed Print
New to This. Fighting Two Battles. Confused, Stressed, and Utterly Lost.
allisg
Posted: Tuesday, October 8, 2019 12:51 AM

Hello to everyone, and thank you for taking the time to open and read about my current life situation(s). I just want to start off by giving a quick background on myself, so that you might better be able to understand some of the struggles I am having, and why some things have become so "overly-frustrating and difficult."

My name is Allison. I'm a 36 year old woman, and mother to a 15 year old girl. I am currently fighting A.S.P.S. (Alveolar Soft Part Sarcoma), a very rare form of cancer - and when I say "very rare" this is what I mean : approximately 1% of all cancers are sarcomas, and the type of sarcoma I have makes up less than 1% of all sarcomas. I have been fighting this battle since March of 2011 when I was diagnosed, and had my first surgery 8 months later. Due to the location of the tumor (in and around my spinal cord), I lost a lot of the use of my left leg. After a lot of rehab, I was able to walk with some semblance of normalcy and continued to be able to do so for several years. 

Even though there were/are no "approved" drugs to treat what I have, throughout the years I was put on three different chemotherapy treatments (one of which was through a clinical trial), which may have helped slow the progression of the tumor somewhat; each only seems to have worked for a short period of time. In 2014 I had surgery to remove a lobe of my left lung because one of the metastasis had grown too large and was dangerously/uncomfortably close to my heart. After that I was still doing my best to maintain something that resembled a normal life.