RSS Feed Print
Caregiver mental health
JQBA
Posted: Thursday, October 31, 2019 12:33 AM

Dad is beginning to think I'm someone else other than his son. Most of the time he thinks I'm his brother. Dad will absolutely not do anything for me, if I give suggestion (I think you're putting your boots on wrong feet is why you can't get them on) I've been doing it this way for three months. Then when finally squeezes his foot into it he looks at me and says see. He absolutely resents me. If I hire a gal to come get him dressed. He does it, with no fighting. He resents me and I resent him. It's messing with my mental health and I'm on full dose of antidepressants. Anybody else struggle with severe depression and mentally unstable dealing with dementia?
neetzie
Posted: Thursday, October 31, 2019 12:43 AM

You are absolutely not alone!  I am tired and sad in a way that I never imagined possible.  Please know that people are here to help and support you (not everyone you hope maybe) but enough.  Stay strong and continue reaching out for help and support anywhere you can find it, and maybe bring that gal in a bit more.

harshedbuzz
Posted: Thursday, October 31, 2019 5:24 AM

JQBA-

At lease he'll get dressed for someone who isn't you. 

Mine did the same. It was about anxiety and trying to hold onto whatever shred dignity, independence and the long ago family dynamic that place him as patriarch, provider and protector. Understanding where it came from made it easier to let roll off. 

I found this helpful for developing empathy for a historically difficult person-

http://www.dementiacarestrategies.com/12_pt_Understanding_the_Dementia_Experience.pdf

My mother, who got more of this sort of stuff from dad needed an IRL support group, psychiatrist and therapist to manage her depression and anxiety. 

Livesbythebeach
Posted: Thursday, October 31, 2019 7:21 AM